13 Colonies Special Event

The 4th of July weekend brings family fun, camping, good food, fireworks and special events. As a newly licensed Extra I was going through the bands trying to find something interesting. Let me tell you I found it!

The Amateur radio special event is the Thirteen Original Colonies SE. They started the event in 2009 to commemorate the birth of our wonderful country. I have really enjoyed the SE and am really getting my feet wet. There is quite a competition to get all the stations so that leads to a big pile up. The operators are very patient, professional and courteous as well as most of the Hams that are trying to get through. For one station there was a QRM’er that was playing back a recording about some nonsense and then gave a .com address. It was very discouraging for the Operators and the Hams trying to get through. With patience and a QSY he (Charlie I believe) was able to resume the contacts.

I am currently trying to get my last two stations, K2C and K2D. I see K2C is on 40m CW and I am just now learning Morse code, so I will have to wait until a digital station or SSB comes up. This has been a blast of fun and I hope to get a clean sweep this weekend.

Thanks to all the coordinators and operators for this Special Event, and God Bless America!

For more information please visit:

www.13colonies.info

73

**UPDATE**

Clean sweep!!! All thirteen colonies, my last contact was Myrt (N1GKE) operating a Rhode Island station (K2C) from Hope, RI on 20m. He had a strong signal all morning, but it took me over two hours to get through. Between the pileup and a lot of QSB I am not surprised it took a while. I admire all the operators stamina and patience during this SE. Thanks to everyone for celebrating the birth of our fantastic country!

Posted on July 3, 2011, in Special Events. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

